2016 Champion Hurdle Betting Guide - Faugheen a warm favourite to retain Grade 1 crown

Cheltenham Festival Bet

Faugheen may have lost his unbeaten record when being beaten by stablemate Nichols Canyon in the Morgiana Hurdle at the start of the season, but the reigning Champion Hurdle hero bounced back to form with aplomb when landing the Christmas Hurdle at Kempton Park, which saw him go a clear odds-on favourite for the 2016 Champion Hurdle.

Whilst Willie Mullins' class act dominates the head of the 2016 Champion Hurdle Betting, he will lock horns with some classy rivals and the aforementioned Nichols Canyon is set to take his chance, whilst Fighting Fifth Hurdle winner Identity Thief and Arctic Fire will be another brace of top notch Irish challengers.

Triumph Hurdle hero Peace And Co will aim to emulate his fine Cheltenham Festival success from last year and alongside My Tent Or Yours will be a couple of Nicky Henderson-trained runners lining up, whilst The New One will add more strength to the home challenge for what should be a cracking showpiece on the first day of the Prestbury Park extravaganza.

Betting on the Champion Hurdle

Champion Hurdle BettingOne of the star attractions of the Cheltenham Festival, the Champion Hurdle is the highlight of the opening day and the betting on the race will soar as we approach the Grade One race on March 10.

As well as having a punt in the 2016 Champion Hurdle Betting market, bookmakers also offer another angle to bet on in the 2m contest with the Betting Without The Favourite proving to be a popular area and this year it will be without Hurricane Fly, who heads the odds and is looking to regain the crown he won in 2011.

Each of the top four in the betting have performed well this season in the Champion Hurdle Trial Races and they are always important for punters to take into account. There are a number of races to keep an eye out for and they include the International Hurdle at Cheltenham and the Christmas Hurdle at Kempton each Boxing Day.

Champion Hurdle Runners and Riders 2016

Like in any horse race there are always specialists either on the horse or who have prepared the horse for the race. Most of those specialists will be at the Festival this and several will have an influence in the Champion Hurdle result this season with the betting looking so tight. The Champion Hurdle Top Trainers gives you a insight to some of those, with a little background information as does the Champion Hurdle top jockeys.

The 2015 Champion Hurdle Runners and riders will be updated at every declaration and will assist you when making selections for the big race. At this stage though we are likely to see all the major players in the betting take their chance at the Festival, they include the likes of Binocular, Hurricane Fly and Zarkandar who are all being well backed at this stage. The final list of runners for the 2014 Champion Hurdle will be made available closer to the race after the 48 hour declaration stage and the comprehensive list will be on offer for punters to study.

Champion Hurdle Tips

The Champion Hurdle is of course one of the biggest races of the season and the highlight on the first day of the Cheltenham Festival meaning it is a massive betting event for punters around the world. The Champion Hurdle Tips are well worth checking out before having a bet on the race as we look to help you find the winner of the Champion Hurdle. The race trends show us there are one or two little bits of info that should be taken into account when having a bet on the Champion Hurdle and it could be crucial to check this out before having that all important bet.

Champion Hurdle History

The Champion Hurdle History is long and varied and there are some legendary winners of the race for punters and racing fans to take note of. Some of the legends of the race in recent times include the great Istabraq who remains many people's favourite, the great horse won the race for three consecutive years in 1998, 1999 and 2000. While Hardy Eustace is another legend of the Champion Hurdle having picked up two consecutive wins in 2004 and 2005 and the connections of this year's list of entries will be hoping to add their names to this illustrious list.